Research Guides: Criminal Justice: Getting Started

Getting started

If you are new to conducting research:
Consider reviewing the Starting Your Research tutorial to learn the phases and processes of doing research.

CCL uses the Library of Congress Classification System to organize physical books in the library.
- BF: Psychology and Related Sciences
- HM: Sociology General and Theoretical
- HN: Social History & Conditions, Social Problems, Social Reform
- HQ: Family, Marriage, Women, Sexual Life
- HV: Criminology, Social Pathology, Social & Public Welfare
- K, KF, KFM: Law
- (These suggested Library of Congress call numbers are for shelf browsing purposes only, and are by no means comprehensive.)

Start your Criminal Justice research with these key resources:

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Why search here? Good starting point when researching topics that intersect with multiple disciplines.
Content type: Scholarly articles, newspaper articles, magazine articles, trade journal articles
Coverage dates: 1887-present; varies by title
Language: English, Spanish, Russian, Portuguese, Turkish, French, Chinese, Arabic etc.
Keywords: ASP
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Why search here? Main database for sociology with international coverage of the social and behavioral sciences.
Content type: Abstracts, scholarly articles, books, trade journal articles, conference proceedings, dissertations and theses
Coverage dates: 1952-present
Language: English, French, Spanish, Portuguese, German
OmniFile Full Text Mega This link opens in a new window
Why search here? Find sources from a range of disciplines, including art, education, humanities, law, social sciences and technology.
Content type: Scholarly articles, magazine articles, trade journal articles, reviews, books
Coverage dates: 1909-present
Language: English, Spanish, French, German, Portuguese, etc.

Library Search!
Library Search is the library catalog. Use it to look for books, videos and DVDs, music scores, and other materials owned by the Library. Library Search includes information on both paper and electronic materials.

Social Sciences Librarian

Dieter Mackenbach

He/Him/His

Email Me

Contact:

Research, Teaching, & User Services
The Claremont Colleges Library

909 607-5341

Subjects: Government, International Relations, Law & Legal Research, Organizational Studies, Politics, Policy, & Government, Public Policy, Sociology